The weather changed during todays cross-country in the Castle Park. We started with fog clearing to overcast conditions to a brief sunshine period to rain. It wasn’t only the weather that changed. Just before the official start there was a mass movement from the front field to the back field as OPW regulations required. But very quickly tents were re-erected, finish chute re-positioned, alternative course mapped out and a busy competition got under way. The Harriers had big numbers taking part – many juveniles and probably the biggest number of seniors taking part in county cross-country. And it wasn’t just big numbers there were big results as well. The under 8s had Daniel Hogan winning silver and Ella Furlong gaining bronze. The under 10s were out in force with the boys taking first and third team medals while the girls also were third team. Boys under 12 won first and second team and the girls were fourth. The under 14s were also impressive with the boys placing first and second and the girls winning silver. In the Senior events both ladies and men were excellent. The ladies won silver in the A championships and gold in the B. The Men won gold in the A and silver in the B.  In the Men’s race the battle for gold and silver rested from the start with Brian Maher and Eoin Everard. Both broke away at the start and left the rest behind. Brian took to the front with Eoin on his heels. On the penultimate lap Eoin took the lead but his reign was short lived as the veteran Brian showed his power and class to take the lead and once again retain the championship title. 

Individual Results

Under 8 – Boys – 2 Daniel Hogan,11 Darragh Browne. Girls – 3 Ella Furlong, 6 Anna O’Brien, 8 Aoibh Molloy, 14 Kate Cunningham.

Under 10 – Boys – 1 Ryan Farrell, 3 Michael Phelan, 5 Daire O’Flaherty, 7 Conor Henderson, 11 Shay Molloy, 12 Peter Quinn, 16 Thomas Hayes, 18 Eoghan McMenamin, 19 Tom Henderson, 22 Jack O’Neill, 23 Ronan Morrissey, 24 Rory O’Donnell. Girls- 4 Eabha Hanrahan, 11 Emma Kelly, 16 Kathlyn Shortall, 17 Siofra Connolly, 26 Jasmine Timmons McAneaney, 36 Aisling Maye, 39 Beth Cooney.

Under 12 – Boys – 1 Diarmuid Behan, 4 Ronan Dwan, 6 Paul Millea, 8 Luke Browne, 9 Conor Holden, 11 Tiernan O’Brien, 16 Ciaran McMenamin, 19 Ruairi Henderson, 22 Tom Brennan. Girls – 3 Eimear Cormack, 18 Aoibhe Quinn, 21 Emma Hogan, 22 Ellen Millea, 29 Clodagh Maye,31 Muireann  Holden.

Under 14- Boys – 2 Sean Young, 3 Eoin O’Callaghan, 4 Darragh Behan, 5 Liam Rea, 9 Tuan Hyland, 10 Conor Millea. Girls – 4 Tracey Geoghegan, 7 Hannah Quinn, 8 Laura Keogh, 9 Abby Keogh, 14 Niamh Ryan.

Senior Ladies A – 4 Grace Richardson, 8 Caoimhe Foley, 10 Cathy Millett, 12 Donna Dunne, 16 Orla McPhillips, 20 Sheila O’Callaghan, 21 Maria Cormack, 23 Ciara Murphy, 24 Annie O’Connor, 26 Martina Lynch. Senior Ladies B – 2 Jane Campbell, 4 Joya Burns, 5 Kate O’Connor, 6 Kate Sugrue, 9 Ann Marie Shortall.

Senior Men A – 1 Brian Maher, 2 Eoin Everard, 5 James Ledingham, 12 Ken Maher,19 Graham Bourne, 21 John O’Donnell.  Senior Men B – 1 Pat Purcell, 7 Pat Young, 8 Tony Lauhoff, 14 David Lawlor, 15 Oisin MacCinneide, 19 Paul Larkins.