The All-Ireland Indoor Relays were held in AIT today. It proved a day to remember for our under 12 girls. With three heats and results based on time it was to no avail to simply win your heat – it had to be won with the fastest time and that’s what these girls did. From the start it was 110% from all four girls with anchor girl, Molly Daly, clinching it on the back straight with a powerful show of speed and strength ( Time 2.02.02). It was a similar challenge for the boys under 12. And they approached it in like manner to the girls. Indeed Oisin Henderson’s performance on the final leg was a replica of Molly’s earlier feat. When all the times were in the boys were fifth – but it was so close with some hundreths of a second separating third, fourth and fifth. So close. Another very tight race was the girls under 15 resulting in silver medals (Time 1.48.03). The boys under 14 and girls under 18 both qualified for the finals of their respective relays. While the boys under 13 finished tenth and Girls under 16 placed ninth. A general indication of  the level of the competition can be gleaned by the result for the boys under 15. Running superbly they achieved a new PB which put them in ninth place. Another great achievement. Well done all – athletes and coaches.

Relay Panels

Under 12 Girls – Rachel Crowley, Laura Leahy, Clodagh O’Callaghan, Molly Daly, Aoibhe Quinn.

Under 12 Boys – Diarmuid Behan, Eoin Moore, James O’Brien, Oisin Henderson, Cormac Holden.

Under 13 Boys – Bill McDermot, Louis Raggett, Evan Cullen, Patrick Lacey, Eyna Boston.

Under 14 Boys – Danny Ring, Alex Cullen, Sean Young, Patrick Lacey.

Under 15 Girls – Abbie O’Brien, Orla Kenny, Ella Delahunty, Amelie Foley, Blaithin Holden.

Under 15 Boys – Keelan Gray, Conor Byrne, Ned Langton, Harry Boyle.

Under 16 Girls – Abbie O’Brien, Rachel Leahy, Tara McGuire, Jennifer Oboh, Amelie Foley.

Under 18 Girls – EmmaPoyntz, Lizzie McGee, Abby Gilsenan, Jennifer Leahy.